Ⓐ Personal Space

no purposes

This soundscape is a pure result of unintentionality. In the midst of an unknown city teeming with things to be discovered, I would not enjoy my time had I focused too much on the project. I was craving connections.

The first night in Olomouc, I left my room without a plan, walked randomly, heard some music from a distance, decided to follow, got lost, got found, and ended up with amazing people in an amazing bar. After that point, I let things go randomly.

After I figured out how to use the tools, I realized two things:

I do not want to record ‘clean sounds’ and connect them later using software. I do not want to separate my time between recording and seeing the city and then connect them later using my memory.

So, I lived as if it was a regular day and put the recording device in my pocket, almost always recording. Most of the time, I forgot I was recording. Sometimes, I left the recorder in a corner in a bar and just socialized. A regular day for me is spent 65% in a bar.

I recorded much more than I could listen to. I had to skim through the recordings and find a way to work with the material I had. Thankfully, spending each night in at least five different bars paid off.

The soundscape consists of recordings from bars or the streets of Olomouc. Three bars stood out the most:

1.	Ponorka
2.	Citadel
3.	The Lower Deck

I wanted to connect different recordings, therefore different bars, in a way that replicated my movements in the city: walking randomly and trying to find the right frequency.

Because of the randomness and unintentionality of it, I believe the sounds are more natural and disorderly. Nothing is done with a purpose, as creating with a purpose is the acceptance of the imitation of reality. Without a purpose, there cannot be imitation.

Lyrics

What the f- am I doing here?
Why am I so drunk?
I wake up every morning like a Disney Princess